IET announces winners of the South Regional round of Scholarship Award

IET-logoBangalore, India, August 12, 2014: The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) announced the winners of south regional round of its prestigious Scholarship Award. Manu Kothari from PES University, Bangalore and Nivea Thomas from Amal Jyothi College of Engineering, Kottayam won south regional round in the general and women categories respectively.

The winners received a cash prize of Rs 40,000 and a certificate each. They will now compete at the National Finals to be held in Bangalore on August 26, 2014.

Mohammed Kamal from VIT Vellore and Aysuhi Tiwari from National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli were the runners up in the respective categories.

The competition is spread across three levels; applicants go through an online examination following which, shortlisted candidates compete at the regional and final round thereafter. Candidates selected for the regional level are required to make a presentation on a pre-decided topic of national importance followed by a Q&A session with an expert jury panel.

The south regional round was held at PES University Campus, Bangalore.

The contestants were judged on their presentation skills, leadership potential, original ideas, and creativity of solution and depth of technical understanding.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *